top of page

An Interview: Get to know an RS reader

Hello Blossoms!


Today I have an interview post for you all! You might remember the entry form some of you filled out for a chance to win an interview on Rooted Scribbles. Well, I drew a name and over the past few weeks I asked the winner (you'll get to meet her in a second) 20 or so questions. Today, you get to read her answers. We both had so much fun preparing this interview for you guys and we're very excited to finally get it posted! So without further ado... Lily May!




1. First of all, what is your name and how old are you?


Hello Blossoms! XD I guess I’ll call you by Emily’s pen name for you. I’m Lily and I’m 14 (going on 15) years old. I live in the beautiful (though often chilly) state of Michigan.


2. What is your favorite....

  • Color

Okay, get ready, I have quite a few. Mustard yellow, all shades of blue, turquoise, light pink, dark rose, lavender, violet, yellow, light green, mint, forest green...yeah, I do have a ton. I just love color in general.


  • Animal

Dogs!! I have one myself, a huge 90lb brindle mutt (maybe part Great Dane and German Shepherd, and lab?) named Penny.

  • Food

I do love anything with cheese in it!! :D But I also have a huge sweet tooth, so if chocolate counts, then definitely chocolate. I’m a huge chocolate nerd.


  • TV show

Uhhh. Honestly, I don’t watch many shows. I prefer movies. But I do really love the Little Women miniseries (does that even count?) and Downton Abbey. ;P


  • Movie

I really love The Help for so many reasons... it’s really heartwarming and sad, but yet it has lots of funny parts. But I also like sad movies and movies that make you really think hard about the ending (Interstellar, Arrival).


  • Book

Emily, are you trying to kill me here? Joking, I actually do have a favorite. *guilty smile* I really love The Giver quartet. But the first one (and its corresponding movie) is the best.


  • Song

Ooh. I love music a ton! Two of my very favorite songs at the moment are See You Again and Go, both by my favorite band, The Gray Havens.


  • Bible verse

The other day during my Bible reading I came across this beautiful verse, 2 Corinthians 12:9(b): “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”


  • Season

Summer!! In Michigan the weather in summer is perfect. I really love the warmth and really dislike the cold.


3. What kind of music do you like to listen to and who are your favorite musical artists?


I love Christian contemporary, I suppose? I’m not good with music genres. Some of my favorite artists are The Gray Havens, Nichole Nordeman, and Andrew Peterson.


4. What are some of your pet peeves?


Cracking knuckles. Ohhhh I hate it so much. (I’m just so sensitive, but this is the worst of all. XD) Luckily I’m not saying this out loud because normally when I tell people that it bothers me they do it just to annoy me! DX


5. What do you believe in?


I believe in Jesus Christ, my Savior and Lord. I believe that I am a sinful person, and have rebelled against God, but that by dying for me, Jesus has paid the price for my sins and ransomed me. I believe that anyone who believes in him will be with him in heaven one day for eternity. I believe that he created me to share these truths with everyone around me, and I believe and pray that I will be able to do so.


6. What is your favorite fast food restaurant?


Ooh, fast food. Subway is really good, but just plain ol’ McDonalds (and a plain ol’ cheeseburger) is also pretty yummy.


7. Introvert or extrovert?


Ha! I’m an extrovert, though only slightly. The test said I was 60% extroverted, and I have found that to be very true. I can be really bold when I want to be, and I am very social most times, but sometimes I want to curl up in a ball and pretend people don’t exist. So I suppose I’m an extrovert-ambivert.


8. Do you collect anything?


Hm, interesting question! I mean, I’d say I DO collect pen pal letters, seeing as I probably have hundreds. And along with that, I collect stuff for all the pen pal letters I send...it’s a pretty large collection if I can call it that. XD

Pen pal supplies!



9. What was the last book you read?


Well, one book I’m currently reading is My Àntonia by Willa Cather. I’m also working through Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss and Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis.


10. What is your favorite quote of all time?


I really love “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.” It’s a Christian quote by Jim Elliot that’s really beautiful. It’s like my life motto (outside of the Bible, that is).


11. What is something you are really invested in?


Ooh. I’d say my Etsy shop! I sell handmade soaps, and 50% of the money goes towards sponsoring a little girl from Togo, Africa. That is definitely something I want to be invested in for years to come!



Some of the soaps in my shop!


12. What are some of your hobbies?


I love to write. I love writing fictional stories, snippets about my own life, and I especially just love writing letters to others. Writing makes me so happy. I also enjoy reading, talking to friends, helping out with my baby foster brothers (see next question XD), and playing violin.


13. What is your home life like?

I am the oldest of five siblings at the moment--I have an 11-year-old brother and a 10-year-old sister who are biological, and currently we have two foster brothers, one who is almost two and the other who just turned one. They have been with us for almost a year and are like our actual brothers, and we hope that maybe someday we can adopt them. <3

One of our previous foster brothers and I. Sadly, I can’t show their faces, which is why I chose this picture.

My siblings (Isaac and Lucy) and I.


14. Do you play an instrument?


Yep! (I gave it away in question 12, didn’t I?) I have played the violin for 8 ½ years and have loved it! I’ve also had six violin teachers throughout that time. 😑 Some of them were incredible and wonderful and I would love to give them a huge shoutout (even though they’ll probably never see this, haha) because I couldn’t be a good violinist without them.


15. Do you have any pets?


Yes! (Okay well I kinda gave this away in the favorites section but I’ll say it again.) I have a beautiful dog named Penny. She’s a mutt, but she’s huge (reaching 90lb) and probably has some Great Dane, Lab, and German Shepherd mixed into her. We tried keeping fish but they all died. I much prefer dogs. (I really, really love dogs. Especially ours…)

Penny puppy!


16. Do you have a dream job?


Oooh. I honestly don’t know. I would love to work with kids someday, maybe kids with special needs, but I’d also love to work with elderly folks. But I don’t want to go into any kind of medical field, so I’m really not sure.


17. What are a few of your favorite names?


Oh yes. I really love names. They’re intriguing! For girls’ names, I love Miriam, Amelia, Evelyn (maybe Evie for short), and tons of others I’m not going to list off because the list would be much too long. For boys’ names, I like mainly biblical names, like Jonathan, Judah, or Samuel (and again, more names I won’t take the liberty to list…).


18. What are a few things you nerd about?


Hmm. I mean, if you count my soap making business, I guess I kind of obsess over that? I really love making all the soaps and figuring out new designs and scents and colors and...yeah. I also really love to ponder music and all the ways that the lyrics fit with the tune. Music is something that I’ll love for the rest of my life!


19. What would you say some of your strengths and weaknesses are?


Yeah! I guess I’ll start with strengths, haha. I’m good at stepping up to help with things where needed, and I’m normally the type of person who can remember people’s birthdays or who needs prayer or who might need an encouraging text on a given day. ;D For weaknesses, I tend to be kind of mindless sometimes and say/do dumb things. I’m quite an awkward person who sometimes talks a bit too loud, and sometimes I can get into a really foul mood.


20. I’ve heard you have an e-magazine, could you tell us a little bit about that?

Emily, you made my logo!! XD Yeah, so my magazine is called Salutis (which is Latin for salvation). I’m using it to share God’s Word and a bit of encouragement and fun to people. I send out an issue once every month, on the first Saturday of the month. My archives are found here if you want to check it out! I have stories, interviews, devotionals, challenges, recipes, and a ton more!

My beautiful logo that Emily designed for me!


I guess that’s all! Thanks for letting me be your interviewee, Em! Bye, Blossoms! XD


Isn't Lily amazing??? I love this girl so much and am very blessed to have her as a friend! Please give her e-magazine, Salutis, a follow and check out her Etsy shop!


I hope you enjoyed this interview post! I want to do another one soon, because I had so much fun with this one!


Till next time Blossoms!


- Emily


IMG_2337.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Emily and thanks for reading my blog. I'm a teenaged, homeschooled Christian introvert who loves mint flavored things, a sunny day, a good action movie, and dance worthy music. If you wanna know more about me and my crazy life go to my About page.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Spotify
  • Pinterest
  • Flickr
bottom of page